Athenians buy potatoes direct from farmers

Home Forums The Automatic Earth Forum Life Boat Food Athenians buy potatoes direct from farmers

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Nassim
    Participant

Greeks ditch middleman to embrace ‘potato revolution’

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-17369989

Birdshak
    Participant

While it is great for consumers and farmers to cut out middlemen, we must remember middlemen are consumers, too. I am a farmer who loves to sell his product (milk and meat). It amounts to a pint of milk for 2057 children every day of the year and 36465 quarter-pound hamburgers divided among whomever you wish. Thing is, if you are not a farmer but have a job, you are probably in the middle of something, so if cutting out the middlemen cuts out everybody but the farmer, the farmer has no income.

gezelle
    Participant

I wonder how long it will take TPTB to intervene with a new ,and large, tax or levy on this type of transaction, if, indeed, they don’t make a new set of laws to end it all together. Chain supermarkets, many with their origins in Europe/Germany, will not allow their profit margin to be cut without fighting back.
    The Greek people are to be crushed and people cannnot be allowed to have control over their own food supply and still be slaves to the system……riot and we cut off your food supply…. end of problem. A heads up to us all.

This illustrates the need for us to get a robust, local food system in place everywhere else now.

Birdshak, I agree that the idea of middlemen means jobs, however the owners of the system, those making the hugh profits on the mark up of food post farm,
    are either not the Greeks themselves or ,if they are, the profits being made are not remaining in Greece to any large extent, but being sucked up by foreign banks/investors. The money paid to the local farmers will remain in Greece and, more importantly, in the very local economy.

gezelle
    Participant