Shedding

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Fire Water

I was 19 and a sophomore in college when a friend showed me the big picture. Of course I was shaken up. I immediately changed my area of study to Sustainable Agriculture (I was lucky to be at a hippy school), and used that place to gain as much knowledge as I could to prepare for the future. My dad had also died recently and it became my responsibility to care for the family farm. At the time I had planned to chop it up and sell it, but things change.

I graduated and ran with the idea of doing everything in my power to prepare myself, and the farm, for the future. I’d like to say that I was really smart in how I went about it, but I was still very young. My first real success was to shed my idealism. In fact I’d say that “shedding” has probably become my most useful skill. I have had to shed friends, possessions, and maladaptive ways of being. Yes, it has been painful, but what has been even more painful for me is to hold on to the things that don’t work.

The thing about this process, it’s a give and take. Sacrificing idealism gave me practicality. Sacrificing the chicken eating dog (to a good home) led to a cat that eats mice and costs nothing. Giving up a house full of stuff has yielded a home that is simple and easy to maintain. Here’s my advice: if you want to be a good gardener, start by selling the Volvo. The number one thing that anyone coming into this should understand, it’s an investment.

I’d say the rewards have been worth it. I have all the friends that I want, tight friends. Friends who have something to offer. As things change I find that doors are opening for me. People are coming to see me as an asset and I help them where I can. With no car I get around by bicycle. I’m in great shape, and the garden is nutritious. The best thing: my time is my own.