Debt Rattle July 1 2018

Home Forums The Automatic Earth Forum Debt Rattle July 1 2018

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Giuseppe Leone Ragusa Sicily 1953   • US Dollar Hegemony Tripped Up by Chinese Renminbi? Um, No (WS) • Even Eva Peron Would Be Crying… (ZH) • N
    [See the full post at: Debt Rattle July 1 2018]

V. Arnold
    Participant

Giuseppe Leone Ragusa Sicily 1953
    Awesome photo; obviously film. Giuseppe is now 81 yo. Still shooting.
    Once upon a time I was a semi-pro photographer; I had my moments, but not enough moola or moments. 😉
    We’ll be eating soylent green yet…

V. Arnold
    Participant

I think the dollar is clearly losing favor as the world’s currency; SCO, BRI, and BRICKS are all willing and able to do business without using the dollars.
    The U.S, is rapidly sanctioning itself out of the game.
    The SCO is also a security agency somewhat akin to NATO with Iran awaiting admission in the next year (I think). Iran is an observer member now, with full membership having no obsticles.
    While WS seems to think the dollar is secure in the forseeable future; the SCO represents (3 billion) 40% of the worlds population; not a small amount.
    Things change, very quickly at times.

Silly me, I has expected a comment on Thailand from you…

What Wolf Richter does is mostly stating how things are right now. And it’ll take time to change that. The range and complexity of dollar-denominated contracts and assets makes that inevitable. SCO or not, nobody wants the yuan as long as China is a system ‘closed upon itself’. That will really only change once Xi allows for a whole lot more freedom in that system. But he cannot afford to do that. yes, you could move to SDRs. But they are issued by the IMF. And that IMF is controlled by….

V. Arnold
    Participant

Raúl Ilargi Meijer
    Silly me, I has expected a comment on Thailand from you…

I’ve done a bit of free spelunking in my day.