Debt Rattle December 18 2018

Home Forums The Automatic Earth Forum Debt Rattle December 18 2018

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Caravaggio St. John the Baptist in the wilderness 1604   • S&P 500 Drops More Than 2% To New Low For 2018, Dow Dives 500 Points (CNBC) • The Late
    [See the full post at: Debt Rattle December 18 2018]

V. Arnold
    Participant

Caravaggio St. John the Baptist in the wilderness 1604

I was immediately struck by the robe, especially that part of it draped over his left knee; I could feel the material (likely wool).
    St. John seems very young, and white(?). Seems a bit out of place; but then, I’m no expert on the history of St. John the Baptist…

V. Arnold
    Participant

Friday, 21 December 2018, 22:23 UTC is the winter solstice.
    Good cheer to all; and may the coming new year bring you good health and contentment…

Dr. D
    Participant

John seems very pale for a guy living in the wilderness. And I don’t think that’s his cloak. Probably a loaner.

Looking at markets, they’re making a lot of small beer. 500 points!!! We’re gonna die!!! 500 points at 25,000 is like 200 points back when the Dow was 10,000, so pretty normal. We just think it’s not because the level of market rigging and cooperation with the 3.5 humans who are still in the market have made volatility low for years. Newsflash: after a two-year, 60% rise, we‘ve gone flat and are where we were in May. We’ve been at 25,000 rangebound for 12 months. Old news. Did anyone really think after rising 60%, we were supposed to rise ANOTHER 60%? Now THAT would be crazy, not a 500pt drop.

That said, let’s reality check: upward motion has stalled, the price has fallen below several critical supports, rose up to re-test them, then fell away. And that’s not good at all, however, it has nothing to do with price or the supposed “volatility”, which is lower than historic averages or headline-grabbing 500-point moves.